The mission of the Department of Ophthalmology at the University of Washington is simple:  we seek to protect and improve vision through the treatment of eye disease.  We do so by practicing the state of the art in ophthalmology, extending the state through scientific research, and by sharing our knowledge with our students, our colleagues, and our community.  To that end, the Department offers a one-year comprehensive, Association of University Professors of Ophthalmology Fellowship Compliance Committee (AUPO FCC) compliant Cornea Fellowship. This competitive training program is designed to provide exposure to all aspects of cornea. 


The Fellowship is sponsored by the Department of Ophthalmology at University of Washington. The fellowship is approved by and monitored by the Association of University Professors of Ophthalmology Fellowship Compliance Committee (AUPO FCC).




Clinical Experience

Research Experience






In our application process, one fellow is selected yearly for the one-year fellowship and has the choice of our two-year fellowship if desired.  Interviews are offered to candidates after a review of all the application materials.  This position is offered through the San Francisco Matching Program (www.sfmatch.org).  Please see the dates and deadlines on the website.  Candidates who will have successfully completed their ophthalmology residency training and who are able to obtain a license to practice medicine in the state of Washington are considered.


Salary is paid at an approximation of Program Year level using ACGME salary scale.  The fellow receives life insurance and health benefits through the University of Washington.  Fellows are provided with malpractice insurance for their fellowship-based activities.  The fellow has traditionally attended specialty meetings or conferences as part of their advanced training.


Incoming Fellow

 Daniel Lemor, MD (2018-2019)

Current Fellow

Alex Foster, MD (2017-2018)

Past Fellow


Program Information

Program Director   
Michael Banitt, MD, MHA
Associate Professor

Education Manager
Karynne Tsuruda

Faculty Listing

Teaching Faculty
Michael Banitt, MD, MHA
Associate Professor

Tueng T. Shen, MD, PhD

Hoon C. Jung, MD
Assistant Professor

Walter Rotkis, MD
Clincal Professor