Roger H Johnson Award

The late Dr. Roger H. Johnson endowed this cash award, which is given every other year through the Department of Ophthalmology at the University of Washington. The intent of the award is to stimulate clinical and basic science research related to the pathogenesis or treatment of age-related macular degeneration (AMD).

Nominations for the award are open to all clinicians and scientists throughout the world. The successful candidate will be the nominee who is deemed by the selection committee to have made the most significant contribution to our understanding of the pathogenesis or treatment of AMD.

Previous award winners include:

Cynthia Owsley, PhD, MSPH (2022)

Patricia D'Amore, PhD, MBA (2020)

Philip Rosenfeld, MD (2018)

Richard Spaide, MD (2016)

Daniel Martin, MD (2014)

Krzysztof Palczewski, PhD (2012)

Jayakrishna Ambati, MD (2010)

Francois DeLori, PhD (2008)

Gregory Hageman, PhD (2006)

Ursula Schmidt-Erfurth, MD (2004)

Christine Curcio, PhD (2002)

The Department of Ophthalmology at the University of Washington welcomes contributions from interested parties who would like to augment this endowment.



Roger H. Johnson
Roger H. Johnson, MD 1914-2007