Linking the past and future with UW Ophthalmology

Our present and former faculty trained numerous professionals over the years, including hundreds of ophthalmology residents, fellows, and post-graduate Ph.Ds.  Also, we hosted international ophthalmologists for advanced subspecialty training.  This page serves to connect graduates of our programs as well as former faculty and staff to one another.  

2023 Alumni event at AAO
Alumni reception at AAO, San Francisco, Nov. 4, 2023

Highlights from Resident Alumni Day 2023

Making connections

  • Resident Education

    Find out how you can volunteer as a guest lecturer or train students in surgical exercises, such as wet labs and simulated procedures.

  • Earn Continuing Medical Education (CME) credits

    Participate in monthly guest lecture series and grand rounds with a physical or online presence.

  • UW Alumni Association

    Graduate of one of our programs?  A former faculty member?  You are eligible to join a group of alumni that work to advance our department's mission.

  • Update your contact information

    Sign up for department newsletters, events, and special alumni gatherings.

Interested in learning more? Contact Us

Class of 2023

Alex Legocki, MD
Preston Luong, MD
Connor Nathe, MD
Grace Su. MD
Philina Yee, MD

Class of 2022

Brian Chou, MD
Thomas Meirick, MD
Minh Nguyen, MD
Nicholas Maxwell Scoville, MD
Alexandra Van Brummen, MD

Class of 2021

John Davis, MD
Kellie Satterfield, MD
Alexander Solomon, MD
Elysse Tom, MD
Mai Tsukikawa, MD

Class of 2020

Karine Duarte Bojikian, MD, PhD
Nicholas K. Chan, MD
Brandon Erickson, MD
Joanne Ho, MD
Ashley Roldan, MD

Class of 2019

Marcela Estrada, MD
Parker Faith, MD
Shu Feng, MD
Jocelyn Lam, MD
Gautam Vangipuram, MD

Class of 2018

Alexander Lin, M.D.
Christine Petersen, M.D.
Adam Sweeney, M.D.
Ariel Tyring, M.D.
Emily Zepeda, M.D.

Class of 2017

Erika Marie Brewer, M.D.
Tao Ming Chia, M.D.
Alexander Foster, M.D.
Yungtai Kung, M.D.
Thao Phuong Le, M.D.

Class of 2016

Ingrid Tina Chang, M.D.
Marc Fidelis Comaratta, M.D.
Jason Paul Kam, M.D.
Narae Ko, M.D.
Mark Armando Prendes, M.D.

Class of 2015

Rebecca Lindsay, M.D.
Yevgeniy Vladimirovich Sychev, M.D.
Kathleen M. Williamson, M.D.
Oliver L. Yeh, M.D.

Class of 2014

Thuy Doan, M.D., PhD
Sheila P. Goyal, M.D.
Divakar Gupta, M.D.
Naomi V. Odell Lundstrom, M.D., M.PH

Class of 2013

Deana Lynn Choi, M.D.
Paramdeep Singh Mand, M.D.
Emile Sharifi, M.D.
Joseph Patrick Sheehan, M.D.

Class of 2012

Jason M. Dettori, M.D.
Daniel B. Moore, M.D.
Sharel C. Ongchin, M.D.
August L. Stein, M.D.

Class of 2011

Jessica Chen, M.D.
Ashley Hayden, M.D.
Jeffrey Peckinpaugh, M.D.
Louis Yang, M.D.

Class of 2010

Shelly N. Bagai, M.D.
John D. Knippers, M.D.
Kristy L. Moeller, M.D.
Sandeep Randhawa, M.D.

Class of 2009

Madeline C. Almond, M.D.
Andrew A. Chen, M.D.
Douglas W. Jacobson, M.D.
Mark S. Soontornvachrin, M.D.

Class of 2008

Jamin S. Brown, M.D.
Eve E. Moscato, M.D.
Mark A. Slabaugh, M.D.
Brian D. Wright, M.D.

Class of 2007

Erin P. Herlihy, M.D.
Christopher N. Singh, M.D.
Elliott H. Sohn, M.D.
Peter N. Youssef, M.D.

Class of 2006

Seth R. Krawitz, M.D.
Deborah L. Lam, M.D.
Omondi L. Nyong'o, M.D.
Pete Spitellie, M.D.

Class of 2005

Richard Kenny, M.D.
Craig Lemley, M.D.
Anna Murchison, M.D.
Rachel Reinhardt, M.D.

Class of 2004

Michael Brush, M.D.
Johanna Jensen, M.D.
Joshua Kim, M.D.
Josh Litwin, M.D.

Class of 2003

R. Samuel Cady, M.D.
Rachael D. Elrod, M.D.
Manasvee S. Kapadia, M.D.
Matthew S. Oliva, M.D.

Class of 2002

Michael D. Boehm, M.D.
Chad R. Goins, M.D.
Peter J. Joson, M.D.
Stacy L. Porter, M.D.

Class of 2001

Roy J. Park, M.D.
Laura M. Periman, M.D.
Michael W. Rausch, M.D.
Jerry R. Shields, M.D.

Class of 2000

Anuja Bhandari, M.D.
Frederick W. Fraunfelder, M.D.
Adrian E. O'Malley, M.D.
Sadiga K. Stelzner, M.D.

Class of 1999

Betsy L. Kott, M.D.
Adam C. Reynolds, M.D.
Barbara A. Smit, M.D., Ph.D.
Ted Zollman, M.D.

Class of 1998

Patrick D. Arnold, M.D.
Gregory N. Joy, M.D.
David P. Lawlor, M.D.
Russell W. Read, M.D.

Class of 1997

Christopher A. Kuntz, M.D.
Steven H. Swedberg, M.D.
Aaron P. Weingeist, M.D.

Class of 1994

John P. Berreen, M.D.
Todd E. Scheiderman, M.D.
John E. Skerry, M.D.

Class of 1993

Janet L. Barrall, M.D.
David A. Boes, M.D.
Teresa A. Thornberg, M.D.

Class of 1992

Robert W. Nash, M.D.
Brian P. Roth, M.D.
Ronald W. Zamber, M.D.

Class of 1991

James M. Britt, M.D.
Carol L. Cooper, M.D., Ph.D.
Starla D. Fitch, M.D.

Class of 1990

Janet M. Carroll, M.D.
Richard H. Hopp, M.D.
Michael E. Lee, M.D.

Class of 1989

Rodger D. Bodoia, M.D., Ph.D.
Elizabeth S. Choy, M.D., Ph.D.
Thomas H. Matsko, M.D., Ph.D.

Class of 1988

Stanley L. Crews, M.D.
Robert R. Francis, M.D.
John A. Leon, M.D.

Class of 1987

David C. Beaudry, M.D.
Fredric A. Stern, M.D.
William M. Tucker, M.D.

Class of 1986

Mark E. Chittum, M.D.
Grady M. Hughes, M.D.
William E. Whitson, M.D.

Class of 1985

Thomas D. Lindquist, M.D., Ph.D.
William O. Matthews, M.D.
Brian R. Nelson, M.D.

Class of 1984

Samuel G. Farmer, M.D.
Daniel J. Karr, M.D.
James A. Parker, M.D.

Class of 1983

Kent L. Bassett, M.D.
Elaine L. Chuang, M.D.
Craig G. Wells, M.D.

Class of 1982

John J. Allavie, M.D.
Richard A. Black, M.D.
Richard Grutzmacher, M.D.

Class of 1981

J. Timothy Heffernan, M.D.
Frederick S. Miller, III, M.D.
James C. Orcutt, M.D., Ph.D.

Class of 1980

John A. Carver, M.D.
Brian R. McKillop, M.D.
Gary A. Pomeranz, M.D.

Class of 1979

John D. Gofman, M.D.
David H. Barr, M.D.
David E. Swanson, M.D.

Class of 1978

David J. Lechner, M.D.
Frank Meronk, Jr., M.D.
Paul K. Overland, M.D.

Class of 1977

James E. Cox, M.D.
James R. Swartley, M.D.
Ronald L. Tokar, M.D.

Class of 1976

Clark W. Deem, M.D.
Peter W. Jensen, M.D.
Robert F. Sanke, M.D.

Class of 1975

Emmett F. Carpel, M.D.
Mark E. Kuechenmeister, M.D. G.
Thomas Reavell, M.D.

Class of 1974

J. Stephen Brown, M.D.
Gary L. Forrest, M.D.
William F. Mallatt, M.D.

Class of 1973

Timothy W. Bortner, M.D.
Robert J. Foerster, M.D.
Donald S. Minckler, M.D.

Class of 1972

John W. Chandler, M.D.
Richard P. Mills, M.D.
David A. Wold, M.D.

Class of 1971

Thomas C. Gettelfinger, M.D.
Bruce A. Wolf, M.D.

Class of 1970

Allen L. Custer, M.D.
Loren E. McKerrow, M.D.
Henry Y. Upton, M.D. 

UW Department of Ophthalmology

908 Jefferson St.. Seattle, WA 98104 (academic offices)
Harborview Medical Center (mailing address)
Box 359608, 325 Ninth Avenue Seattle, WA 98104
Phone: 206.543.7250
Fax: 206.685.7055


For Patients

For Medical Professionals