Thanks to our supporters

In addition to establishing an enduring UW Medicine legacy for the donor, endowments provide a lasting and reliable source of support for the Department of Ophthalmology. We are honored to recognize many generous supporters who have invested in vision science research, patient care, and training. Endowments listed are those fully vested as of December 1, 2022. To learn more about establishing an endowment at UW Medicine, please visit give.uwmedicine.org.

Ora Lee Anderson Endowed Ophthalmology Fund

Gordon and Joan Bergy Endowed Professorship in Ophthalmology

Frank and Elizabeth Bret Endowed Fund for Ophthalmology Research

Boyd K. Bucey Memorial Endowed Chair in Ophthalmology

John Colen M.D. Endowed Fund for Ophthalmology

Dr. Melvin I. and Nanette D. Freeman Endowed Fund in Ophthalmology

Sidney Futterman Endowment

Gensheimer Endowed Fellowship in Ocular Inflammatory Diseases

James L. Hargiss Ophthalmic Plastic & Reconstructive Surgery Fellowship

James Hargiss, M.D., Endowed Fund in Ophthalmology

Edyth W. Henderson Endowment

Grace E. Hill Chair in Vision Research

Ray H. Hill Chair in Ophthalmology

Patricia Johnson Hunt Endowed Fund for Ophthalmology

C. Dan and Irene Hunter Endowed Fund for Ophthalmology

Roger H. Johnson Award for Macular Degeneration Research

Murray and Jeanie Johnstone Endowed Travel Award for Ophthalmology

Robert and Janet Kalina Endowed Fund for Research and Teaching in Ophthalmology

Robert and Janet Kalina Fund for Education in Ophthalmology

Robert E. Kalina, M.D., Endowed Professorship for Ophthalmology Education

Karalis Johnson Retina Center Endowed Fund for Excellence

James L. Kinyoun, M.D. Endowed Retina Fellowship

Klorfine Family Endowed Chair in Ophthalmology Research

Thomas F. Kraft and Suzanne E. Stevens Endowed Fund for Vision Science

George and Martina Kren Endowed Chair in Ophthalmology Research

Latham Endowed Faculty Fellowship for Vision Science Research Innovation

D. Franklin Milam, M.D., Endowed Fellows Support Fund in Ophthalmology

Carolyn and Roger Miller Endowed Fund for Ophthalmology

Richard S. Munsen, M.D., Endowed Fund for Ophthalmology

Helen L. and Arthur T. Ness Research Fund

Ophthalmology Endowed Fund

Rayment Endowed Fellowship in Ophthalmology

Helen A. & Robert Max Reynolds Endowed Research Fund in Ophthalmology

Rose Seaquist Endowed Fund

Graham and Brenda Siddall Endowed Chair in Cornea Research

Siddall Endowed Fellowship for Uveitis Research

Steen/Musgrave Research Fund in Ophthalmology

Jules and Doris Stein Research to Prevent Blindness Professorship

Tenckhoff Family Endowed Research and Teaching Fund

Helen Ann Thompson Endowed Fund for the UW Eye Institute

University of Washington Department of Ophthalmology Outstanding Medical Student Scholarship

University of Washington Ophthalmology Resident Research Award


We are honored to receive support through named current-use funds including:

Bishop Foundation Professor in Ophthalmology

Computational Ophthalmology Research

Dawn’s Light Term Fund for IRD Research

Gensheimer Fellow in Ocular Inflammatory Diseases

Glaucoma Research Fund

Indigo Fund for Vision Research

Jassny Fund for Vision Science Research

Latham Fund for Vision Research

Mark J. Daily, M.D. Fund for Ophthalmology Research

Ron Peck Family Fund for Vision Research

Sinskey Foundation Research Gift

Tietze Family Vision Research Award

Violet Sees Fund

To learn more about establishing an endowment at UW Medicine, please visit: http://depts.washington.edu/givemed

UW Department of Ophthalmology

908 Jefferson St.. Seattle, WA 98104 (academic offices)
Harborview Medical Center (mailing address)
Box 359608, 325 Ninth Avenue Seattle, WA 98104
Phone: 206.543.7250
Fax: 206.685.7055


For Patients

For Medical Professionals