Roger H. Johnson Award

Roger H. Johnson Award

The late Dr. Roger H. Johnson endowed this award, which is given every other year through the Department of Ophthalmology at the University of Washington. The intent of the award is to stimulate clinical and basic science research related to the pathogenesis or treatment of age-related macular degeneration (AMD).

About Roger H. Johnson

Roger Johnson graduated from the University of Wisconsin and trained at the Mayo Clinic. He set up his practice in downtown Seattle in 1945 and came to serve as a clinical professor on the University of Washington faculty; he was also a mentor and an eye researcher. Johnson established the eye clinic at Seattle Children’s and volunteered his time to serve as chief of service for more than 40 years.

Roger and his wife Angie were always interested in improving the health of eye patients. Nearly 40 years ago, they endowed the Roger Johnson Lectureship at Seattle Children’s, which brings top pediatric ophthalmologists to Seattle and has become one of the most prestigious visiting lectureships in the specialty. Later, in 2001, they endowed the Roger H. Johnson Award for Macular Degeneration. This prize is given to the scientist who has made the most significant contribution to the understanding or treatment of age-related macular degeneration. A remarkably generous gift from Angie Karalis Johnson led to the creation of the Roger and Angie Karalis Johnson Retina Center at UW Medicine South Lake Union in 2019.

Nominations for the award are open to all clinicians and scientists throughout the world. The successful candidate will be the nominee who is deemed by the selection committee to have made the most significant contribution to our understanding of the pathogenesis or treatment of AMD.

Previous award winners include:

Cynthia Owsley, PhD, MSPH (2022)

Patricia D'Amore, PhD, MBA (2020)

Philip Rosenfeld, MD (2018)

Richard Spaide, MD (2016)

Daniel Martin, MD (2014)

Krzysztof Palczewski, PhD (2012)

Jayakrishna Ambati, MD (2010)

Francois DeLori, PhD (2008)

Gregory Hageman, PhD (2006)

Ursula Schmidt-Erfurth, MD (2004)

Christine Curcio, PhD (2002)

The Department of Ophthalmology at the University of Washington welcomes contributions from interested parties who would like to augment this endowment.

UW Department of Ophthalmology

908 Jefferson St.. Seattle, WA 98104 (academic offices)
Harborview Medical Center (mailing address)
Box 359608, 325 Ninth Avenue Seattle, WA 98104
Phone: 206.543.7250
Fax: 206.685.7055


For Patients

For Medical Professionals